Beauty · Empties

Empties Post – What I’ve used up & would I repurchase.

First up : Face masks!

I love face masks. They can be so relaxing and make you feel pampered. But they can also be a disaster! If they sting or leave the skin red or irritated they can cause more trouble than when you started!  Anywho 1st up:

Avene Soothing Moisture Mask: I really loved this one. I picked it up in France last year. It never stings and always soothes my skin. It goes on white & dries down clear. I found I could leave it on as long as I liked & never had a bad reaction. It removed easily & my skin always felt super soft & dehydrated after use, calm & happy.

Repurchase? : Absolutely!

Liz Earle Intensive Nourishing Treatment Mask: I have a full review of this here but short version is it stung my face a bit & I’m not a fan of that.

Repurchase? : No.

Balance me Radiance Face Mask: This had some very large scrub pieces within it which confused me as a face mask! They were quite large & rough as well. I was a bit concerned as to what damage they were doing to my skin (I used to love psychical scrubs but have stopped using them as I am worried they are damaging my skin on a level that the naked eye can’t see) But my skin was definitely smoother after use.

Repurchase? : No.


Next up SPF! I feel us Irish are not as good with the auld SPF as we should be. Especially in the winter time. I think we think because the sun isn’t splitting the rocks we don’t need it. But I am an avid wearer & always use factor 50.

Vichy Ideal Soleil SPF 50: I really enjoyed this. It is very white & suncreamy but it blends in well & never affected my make up. I feel confident wearing this that my skin is being protected. It also feels very moisturising. It does smell like sunscreen but nice sunscreen.

Repurchase? : Absolutely!

(I’ve repurchased the new one that came out this year that is tinted & LOVE it)


Onto Eye Makeup Remover. I use either water proof or Tube mascara so a good eye makeup remover is essential.

No7 Beautiful Skin Eye Makeup Remover: This is an oil based remover & should have been great but unfortunately wasn’t. I had to work really hard to remove everything.

Repurchase? : No.

Garnier Express 2 in 1 Eye Makeup Remover: I love this. It’s my 3rd bottle. It is so gentle on my eyes & removes all traces of mascara etc from the eyes.

Repurchase ?: YES, Already have.

Next up is Toner. I like to use a more gentle one in my morning routine as I don’t want any redness etc while getting ready for work in the morning. Or if I have used a more aggressive face mask.

No 7 Soft & Soothed Gentle Toner: I really enjoy this one. I alternate between this & the Garnier soothing one. This has a very delicate fragrance nothing that would irritate. It does exactly what it says on the tin. It soothes the skin and is very gentle.

Repurchase? : Yes, I’m currently on my second bottle


On to Micellar Water. I am a big fan of Micellar waters and am currently working my way through different brands offerings.

Botanics Micellar 3 in 1 Cleansing Solution (All Bright) : Companies really need to get a grip & shorten their names! I wasn’t a fan of this one. I don’t feel it cleansed my skin as well as The Garnier or Bioderma ones that are currently leading the pack for me. I also felt like there was something (aside from makeup) left on my skin as a residue. As with others that don’t work out this was relegated to brush cleaning duties (I love Micellar water for cleaning my eye brushes)

Repurchase? : No


Perfume! I so rarely finish a perfume so am both delighted & saddened!

Emporio Armani She: I love this perfume. This is my second bottle. I won’t even try to describe it cause I’m hopeless. But I love it in the winter time. I always feel a perfume should make you smile & feel good. I am always sad when I spritz the last spray from a perfume I love.

Repurchase ? : Absolutely!


Ah Serums. A more recent discovery but a product I have absolutely fallen in love with.

Nip+Fab Skin No Needle Fix Serum: I really enjoyed using this in the morning. I usually forgo a moisturiser in the morning as I don’t have time for it to sink in so I opt for a serum & this was perfect. I definitely felt a tightening effect from it on initial application.

Repurchase? : Yes

Bioderma Hydrabio Serum: You know it’s love when a little bit of you dies inside when you go to dispense the product & nothing comes out but air! I use this at night & when I ran out of it I really felt the loss. I even had another serum there to use but after a couple of days I “had” to go out & repurchase. It’s a light consistency & absorbs quickly into the skin leaving it feeling hydrated.

Repurchase ? : Yes YES YES! Already have.

I rarely finish out makeup as I have so much (some would say too much!) But I am trying to make a better effort to finish products out before I open a new one. And so I have finished a Concealer !

Flormar Perfect Coverage Liquid Concealer (01):  Flormar has returned to Ireland in the last 12 months or so & I’m glad they did. I’ve been trying out a few different bits & so far this is a winner. It is a peachy colour which I find great for when I have darker circles, it really seems to counteract them. It didn’t crease much at all ( I always expect a little bit of creasing as I am older & have lines under my eyes, simple as. But I never want to see extra lines!) It is quite hydrating as well.

Repurchase? : Yes


And Finally a Prep Spray.

Urban Decay Vitamin Infused Complexion Prep Spray B6: (seriously?! there’s barely enough room on the bottle for the name!!) Name aside I still wouldn’t purchase a full size of this. I just don’t see the point of it. My skin didn’t feel any different than if I had sprayed water on it.

Repurchase? : No.

And that is it for now. Have you used up any products of late that you would run out & repurchase straight away? Have you tried any of the products that I’ve mentioned above ? Did you love or loath them ? I’d love to know 🙂

7 thoughts on “Empties Post – What I’ve used up & would I repurchase.

Leave a Reply

