Beauty · Makeup Category Focus

Eyebrows from the 90’s : A horror story!

Unfortunately for me my foray into makeup started in the 90’s which means I plucked my eyebrows into oblivion. Even more unfortunate is the fact that big bushy eyebrows are in! If I had went around with Cara Delevigne -esque eyebrows in the 90’s I would have been called “Scary Mary” and would have ran home crying and plucked myself raw!!!! Therefore, as a result , I need to fake it.

My favourite method is through powder & brow mascara. These are some of the ones I’ve been using:

Both the Wet n Wild & Catrice are both fantastic budget options and I find myself reaching for them over their more expensive counterparts from Benefit & Urban Decay.

Of course you could just go through your eyeshadows and see if they is a colour that would like nice on your brows. It’s essentially the same thing


This is my second tube of L’Oréal Brow Artist Plumper. The brush is nice and small which can be hard to come by, don’t know why some companies still insist on making brushes so big. The Essence Make me Brow is a supposed dupe for the Benefit Gimme Brow. They are extremely similar. But obviously the Essence one is a fraction of the cost. This is just a sample size of the benefit one and doesn’t entice me to buy the full size.


I like to use Brow pencils when I have more time on my hands. So usually at the weekends. The NYX Micro Brow Pencil & the Soap & Glory are both supposed dupes for the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Pencil. As I don’t own it I can’t attest to it but I can say they both have a really fine nib that helps make the “fake” hairs look as real as possible. And they both have great spooleys on the end. Again the Benefit one hasn’t blown my mind and therefore I wouldn’t purchase (this was a sample in a magazine)


Last are pomades, granted this one from NYX is the only one I’ve tried, but it put me off. It was too messy & fussy for me. I’ve no desire for instabrows & it was just too much work for my liking.


And last but not least is my favourite tool for my eyebrows. This is from Penny’s (Primark) by their own range PS. The brush part of it is nice and firm & tidy and makes putting on the powder so fast and easy. And the spooly is really great. I think it cost a whole €1.50!

What is your favourite way to do your brows? Are you afflicted with 90’s brows like myself? I’d love to know.

5 thoughts on “Eyebrows from the 90’s : A horror story!

Leave a Reply

