Beauty · Makeup Category Focus

Shine bright like a diamond πŸ’ŽΒ 

The next item in my quest for the perfect product is High-lighter.

I have recently come to the realisation that as my skin is older (shudder) glittery, sparkly highlighter is not my friend. So I am on the hunt for something more subtle and has that ethereal lit from within quality.

These are the ones I’m passing on:

The two Rimmel ones are very glittery and the Coco Brown was even more so! Really not my friend. The N07 was too chunky and the Catrice was very watery.

This MUA had very little to no pay off.

These are the ones I am currently trying out

The Mary-Lou Manizer by The Balm is a gorgeous pale gold.

The NYX Highlight & Contour Pro Palette has two subtle highlights in it. IceQueen which as the name suggests is very icy and Nectar which is a more peachy colour with a hint of gold.

The Catrice High Glow Mineral Highlighting Powder has a bit of a cult following here in Ireland. Probably because of our pale skin and it is a lovely everyday work appropriate highlight. I wasn’t mad about it at first as I was expecting to be seen from space but once I realised it was meant to be subtle I’ve fallen in love with it and use it nearly every day.

The Sleek Highlighting Palette in Solstice is very popular with the youtubing community and while it is definitely intense I can’t say that I love it.

But the Wet n Wild Megaglo Highlighting Gold Bar, which by the way Β is the cheapest, is absolute love ❀️. It’s a gorgeous and very non-subtle intense gold highlight. If I’m going for a really bronzey, golden goddess style look I will always reach for this!

The NYX Strobe of Genius Illuminating palette I’ve only just picked up & haven’t really played with yet. It came up a lot in youtubers drugstore favourite highlighter of 2016 so of course I HAD to buy it!

The ones I would love to try this year are as follows:

  • Becca Highlighters, whether it be moonstone, opal or the iconic Champagne Pop.
  • Laura Mercier highlighter. It’s supposedly a gorgeous subtle lit from within style highlighter.
  • ELF Highlighting palette, apparently its supposed to be gorgeous for the price.
  • Kevin Aucoin , just cause I’ve heard great things about his line.

That’s all I can think of at the moment.

I’d love to know what your favourites are?

5 thoughts on “Shine bright like a diamond πŸ’ŽΒ 

Leave a Reply

